The sun and the moon

I was your sun

And you were my moon

You held me so high

But you left too soon

//

Our head’s in the sky

Our love was the stars

It was a special kind

That love was just ours

//

The sun loves the moon

with all that she is

Forever and always

She just wants to be his

//

Her heart belongs to him

But she knows he doesn’t feel the same

Each night as she lays down for rest

Her heart whispers his name

//

As a tear escapes her eye

She holds onto her chest

Because to be loved by the moon

She would truly be blessed

//

She lost her moon

Her light in the dark

He took a piece of her when he left

He took a piece of her heart

//

Broken in two she gave it to him

The sun was without her moon

She hasn’t felt whole

Since he left that late afternoon

//

You’re still my moon

You have a place in my heart

Wishing to be your sun

Longing to not be apart

//

Maybe we’ll meet again soon

And you will finally see

For me it was always you

And for you it was always me

{j.r}

Leave a comment